Sunday, March 10, 2013

The Negro League baseball history fact for today

Due to restrictions from “Jim Crow” racial discrimination laws, Negro baseball leagues in the south were less successful than those in the north.  However, the only official Negro baseball league that operated the entire 1932 season was the Negro Southern League (NSL).  The Chicago American Giants, Nashville Elite Giants, Memphis Red Sox, Monroe (La.) Monarchs, Montgomery (Ala.) Grey Sox, Louisville Black Caps, and Indianapolis ABCs were the teams in the league.   The NSL lost its perception of a “minor league” that year because it was the only official representation of Negro League baseball.  However, the league’s status declined when the Negro National League was revived the next year; Chicago and Nashville leaving the NSL to join it.  Memphis left the NSL and joined the Negro American League in 1937.    

No comments:

Post a Comment