Monday, February 4, 2013

The Negro League Baseball history fact for today

The Eastern Colored League (ECL) which was formed 90 years ago in 1923.  The ECL was the second Negro professional baseball league, formed three years after the Negro National League.  It consisted of six teams:  Hilldale (Philadelphia), Cuban Stars, Brooklyn Royal Giants, Bacharach Giants, Lincoln Giants, and Baltimore Black Sox.  The league folded due to financial problems before the 1929 season. 

No comments:

Post a Comment